Piazza Navona

There is so much beauty held within the Piazza Navona, and it amazes me that this space has been unchanged for hundreds of years.  I was so overwhelmed by the beauty of the Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi, that I just didn’t take many pictures of the surrounding fountains, church, and buildings.  Although this fountain is quite grand, the other two are just as spectacular.  It is flanked by Fontana del Nettuno and Fontana del Moro, with the stunning Sant’Agnese in Agone towering in the background.

The Fountain of the Four Rivers is represented by the Ganges, the Nile, the Danube, and the Rio de la Plata, with an Egyptian obelisk in the center.  Bernini completed it in 1651.  I also took a few pictures of the Moor Fountain.  It was completed in 1575, by Giacomo della Porta.  The third fountain in the square is the Fountain of Neptune (not pictured).  This was also by Giacomo delle Porta, and was completed in 1574.  The construction of the glorious Baroque church, Sant’Agnese, began in 1652.  The contributing architects were Girolamo Rainaldi, Carlo Rainaldi and Francesco Borromini.

Next time I am in Rome, I will have to go in the church. And take more time just being, in the Piazza.


Posted by

ASU Art History Student | Blogger | Wanderer | CA🛬TN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.